Previous Topic: Obtain a License

Next Topic: Release Numbering Scheme in CA ERwin Data Modeler

Upgrade a Model from r7.x to r8.x

When you open an r7.x model in r8.x, the Model Upgrade Wizard opens so that you can specify how you want to convert your old model to the current version. The wizards lets you choose whether you want to retain the main subject area of the 7.x model and how you want to upgrade your r7.x transforms.

In the Main Subject Area Options page, you can check the Keep the Main Subject Area option to retain the subject area in r8.x. Check Keep the diagrams for the Main Subject Area option if you want to retain the r7.x stored displays as diagrams in r8.x. To delete the r7.x main subject area and diagrams, uncheck the options and click Continue. The Post Load Upgrade dialog appears indicating the successful upgrade of your r7.x models to r8.x.

You can choose to apply a default theme to your diagrams. We recommend that you leave the boxes checked.

On the Transforms page, you can choose to Resolve All Transforms, Reverse All Transforms, or Convert Transforms in current state.

Note: If you do not delete the main subject area during the model upgrade, you can choose to delete it later to make your models smaller and faster.

Also review the following information about upgrading r7.x models to r8.x:

Models

You can upgrade any model from r7.x to r8.x.

During the r8.x upgrade process for CA ERwin Data Modeler Workgroup Edition, a dialog opens if you have any models that are stored in a r7.x mart that are Version 4.x. This dialog contains a list of all the Version 4.x models and presents you with the following options for each model:

Printer settings and paper size considerations

If you use a paper size other than Letter, before you upgrade any r7.x models to r8.x, ensure your paper size specifications are set in the Printer Properties dialog and saved with the model. Otherwise, you must reset your paper size in the Page Setup Editor in r8.x.

Deleting subject areas during the upgrade process

The r8.x upgrade process includes the option to delete the Main Subject Area. When the upgrade process completes, the model opens in r8.x. If this model contains other subject areas that you want to delete, then for better model performance we recommend that you first save the open model and close it. Reopen the model and then delete any subject areas that you want to remove.

Diagram layout

Due to the changes in the diagram layout technology, the conversion of models from r7.x to r8.x may not preserve the exact layout used in r7.x.